WELCOME TO THE DEBUTE OF UNDER THE GLOVES: Tattoo artist’s guide to better living

Welcome to Under the gloves: A Tattoo Artist guide to better living. I’m your hostess with the mostess Cee Jay “Inky” Jones.

Let’s face it; tattoo artists aren’t known for their strong arms, rippling abs and good health. We’re a lazy bunch and we all pay the price for spending years bent over in a chair tattooing in the most precarious positions. We eat anything that can be stuffed in our faces between tattoos. A real dedicated tattoo artist, eat, breaths and shits tattoos on a daily basis. Most of us seem to get so wrapped up into our art and making a living that we often fail to take care of ourselves the way we should.

So, here’s the thing. You love what you do. Right? One of your primary goals in life is to be the best tattooist you can possibly be. Right? You want to be one of the big dogs. You want bigger, better and more. Right again? Perhaps it’s just me, but I love being a tattoo artist and I can see myself slinging ink for at least the next thirty years. For most of us, being a tattooist means no health insurance, no dental, no optical, no nothin. Tattooists don’t have the option of workman’s compensation if they get sick or injured.  For scores of us, if we don’t work; we don’t make money. If we don’t’ make money: we’re fucked.  That’s why it’s so important to take care of yourself, not only physically, but mentally, so you can be in it to win it for the long haul. That’s why I’m here to help.

Under the gloves is about the health, wealth and happiness of the tattoo artist. Look, I’m not talking about putting a blog up here filled with extreme workouts, sprinkled with hard core vegan sentiments. I’m talking about tips, hints and information to help make life as a tattooist a little easier, a bit healthier with more practical approach to keeping it together long enough to become one of those old timers with crazy stories many of us look up to. Making a few small changes can drastically improve common problems for tattoo artists, such as stretches to help alleviate back pain.

Tattooists live a hard life. It’s a fun life, but it can be demanding both physically and mentally. This is the kind of career the presents unique challenges.  I’ve spent years searching for particle advice that focus’ on the well being of tattooists to no avail. I believe the most important part of modern tattoo culture is the tattooists who create it. My focus is to assist and inform the artist “under the gloves” as much as I can for a better living.

I’ve been tattooing for 16 years. I know what it’s like to tattoo from 11am till 3 in the morning. I’ve had my hands cramped and my eyes burning after tattooing for hours on end. I’ve had my fair share of quickie meals from greasy spoon joints located near whatever shop I’m working at. I’ve crawled into work with a cold, a hangover, a bad case of food poisoning and days after giving birth.  I’ve sacrificed a ton to become the tattooist I am today. I’ve had some incredibly hard times, but I never give up and never stop reaching for my goals. Through it all, I continue to love what I do and keep myself in good working order for whatever challenge comes my way.

I’m 40 years old. I’ve been an artist and athlete my entire life. I’ve been playing roller derby for the last five years. I play for the Detroit Derby Girls which is one of the top 20 Women’s Flat Track Derby leagues in the nation.  I typically compete against woman in their 20’s. I brought four boys into the world. My oldest son will be 22 in February. I weigh about eight to ten pounds more than I did in high school. I’m proud to say people are often surprised at discovering my age.  I’ve spent a lifetime educating myself on fitness and nutrition, so I can keep myself healthy for my children and my clients. Admittedly, for myself as well, so I can do fun stuff like roller derby.

Anyway, here I am; self proclaimed tattoo health guru, here to pass on information to my beloved peer tattooers out there. This blog will have continuous updated tips, tricks, info. and interviews with tattoo artists, for tattooists interested in living better. I’m hoping to help the community I’ve grown to love so very much. Keep checking back, because I’m bound to write something interesting or useful and you won’t want to miss it!

If you have any tips, suggestions, or something you would like to see me write about, drop me an email at: underthegloves13@yahoo.com.

Thanks for reading!

Cee JayImage

2 thoughts on “WELCOME TO THE DEBUTE OF UNDER THE GLOVES: Tattoo artist’s guide to better living

  1. I can’t tell you how happy I am to have found your writings on health for tattooists. Now 43, I have what I call my “Wreck Neck”. Poor posture from years of grinding out tattoos in a street shop for 12 hours a day. I went from Doctor to Doctor. Symptoms = nausea, dizziness, jaw neck shoulder pain, fingers numb, tingly hands, brutal headaches, fogginess, ear filled with fluid, eye pain, moodiness, fatigue, heart palpatations, head rushes that would almost knock me out . So like the rest of us sheeple I trotted off to see a Dr., who sent me to a Dr., who sent me to a Dr…. Seven master’s degrees later I heard all kinds of fancy latin names spew from their mouths about what it “might” be, followed immediately with another prescription I’m told to “try”, and a follow up appointment or referral to suck more cash out of me. One even sat right there on Google and searched until our 15 minutes was up and then he scribbled me some pills and a referral.
    After almost 2 years, and off work now for almost 6 months I figured it out my damn self and your article confirmed it for me. Poor posture while tattooing will ruin you!! After much R&R, message and strength training I’m finally getting off the injured reserve list and hope to get back to tattoooing full time again. I’ve found Dr. Egoscue on youtube very helpful as well. Thanks for taking your time to put this information out there. Keep it up and write on! EdDiE B.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

