Eternal Color of the Week: Amethyst

ImageImage

A couple of weeks ago I was fortunate enough to participate in the 19th annual Motor City Tattoo Expo. hosted by Eternal Tattoos.  One of the best parts of the show was that ALL of the Eternal Ink colors were there for sale. I wait for this event all year so I can stock up on my ink addiction. This year, there’s a brilliant line of colors to hit the Eternal collection called CHUKE’S. In case you didn’t know, Chuke is Eternal Ink’s sales executive and a pretty cool dude. Chances are if you bought Eternal Ink at a convention, you may have purchased it from CHUKE. Last week, I posted up Chuke’s pick, which was SNOWFLAKE. This week it’s all about Charlie and Amethyst.

Charlie is Eternal Inks “Master Color Engineer”.  He’s pretty adorable and has a great smile which has nothing at all to do with mixing ink or creating color, but it’s not often I run across nice, smiley ink makers. I had a brief conversation with him at the close of the convention on Sunday. It was nice for him to take time and talk ink with me. He was quite busy. I asked Charlie to pick a color and he picked Chuke’s Amethyst. I’m not sure if Charlie’s choice was intentional or subliminal, but Amethyst is the birthstone for February. As far back as I can remember; the Motor City convention has always been toward the end of February. So, in my book Amethyst is the birthstone for the Motor City Expo.

It’s interesting that Charlie picked Amethyst, because I literally purchased the color earlier on in the day and was able to actually tattoo with it before talking to him. I’ve only used Amethyst once since the convention. I can’t wait to have an excuse to use it again. Last week, I posted up a cover up in progress I’m working on where I utilized colors from the Chuke collection. This week I’m posting the tattoo I did during the expo where I used the Amethyst myself. I’m hoping this isn’t coming off like some shameless plug for me, but the Chuke colors are so new, I haven’t yet pegged down an artist I know for sure is using it. I prefer to showcase the work of other tattoo artists that I love. After all, it is my blog.

Amethyst is an attractive color. It’s a beautiful purple tone leans more towards the pink end of the spectrum rather than blue. It’s not so light that it’s pastel. It’s a solid, light purple tone. I has just enough white to give it a good opacity level without the smeary business. I like that. Obviously it goes great with a purple concentrate undertone for low lights. I can’t wait to experiment with this color more as it seems like it’s a highly adaptable and blendable color.

Charlie totally picked a sweet color. I only wish I had more time with it so I can get a little more descript and connect a stellar artist that uses it. It was interesting talking with Charlie about Amethyst, because he informed me that he accidentally developed the color SMOKE while trying to create this delectable purple delight. If you’re not familiar with Smoke, please scroll down in my blog. Smoke happened to be the first Eternal color of the week I reviewed and features the work of Kelly Doty. (http://instagram.com/kellydotylovessoup )

Next time you order some ink from Eternal, I suggest you order yourself a bottle of Amethyst. You won’t be disappointed. Hell, why not order an entire sample set of Chuke’s new line? Again, you won’t be disappointed.

As for that Charlie dude with the very nice smile; Keep up the good work and thanks for creating Amethyst!

Leave a Reply

